Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Posted online: January 2018

The red carpet rolls out once again for the 33rd annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival from January 31 through February 10 with a full roster of films, shorts, tributes, panels, and awards. As in previous years, movie competition categories include documentaries, independents, international films, social justice documentaries, and Spanish/Latin American cinema. 

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival is honoring Willem Dafoe with the 2018 Cinema Vanguard Award on Thursday, February 1, for his outstanding performance in The Florida Project. This tribute was created with the intention of honoring actors with the tenacity to forge new ground in their craft. Previous recipients include Ryan Gosling, Amy Adams, Nicole Kidman, and Rooney Mara.

The Modern Master Award is the highest honor presented by SBIFF and was established in 1995 with a purpose to honor an individual who has enriched our culture through accomplishments in the motion picture industry. This year, it is being presented to Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour), Friday, February 2.

Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out), Gal Gadot (Wonder Woman), Hong Chau (Downsizing), John Boyega (Detroit), Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick), Mary J. Blige (Mudbound), and Timothee Chalamet (Call Me by Your Name) are receiving this year’s Virtuosos Award on Saturday, February 3.

Saoirse Ronan is accepting the prestigious Santa Barbara Award Sunday, February 4, for her critically acclaimed role in Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird. “In Lady Bird, Saoirse Ronan has once again proven that she is a force of nature and one of her generation’s most exciting young talents,” states SBIFF executive director Roger Durling.

Allison Janney and Margot Robbie are being named 2018 Outstanding Performers of the Year on Thursday, February 8, for their extraordinary performances in I, Tonya. “Allison and Margot bring biting humor and an emotional resonance to their real-life characters in I, Tonya,” states Durling. Janney and Robbie are joining a recognized group of previous award recipients, including Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, Steve Carell, Cate Blanchett, Jennifer Lawrence, Viola Davis, Penelope Cruz, Angelina Jolie, Heath Ledger, Kate Winslet, and Charlize Theron, to name a few.

The American Riviera Award was established to recognize actors who have made a significant contribution to American cinema. Golden Globe and Critic’s Choice Award winner Sam Rockwell is honored with this prestigious award for his performance in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Wednesday, February 7.

All award presentations are taking place at The Arlington Theatre.


Tagged in: , ,

Leave a Comment