Street Scene

Posted online: November 2014

By Joan Tapper, photographs by Megan Sorel

coastvillage

It’s only about five blocks long, but the stretch of road between Hot Springs and Olive Mill embodies the sense of uniqueness that we like to claim in Santa Barbara. Of course, there’s nothing in the world like our American Riviera, but that’s especially true of the array of boutiques, eateries, salons, and other shops that line Montecito’s Coast Village Road.

The community spirit runs high here, with a wealth of businesses owned and operated by friends and neighbors who have sought out the best and most unusual items for their customers. Clothes for her, him, and the kids; decor for the home; glittery baubles; sparkling drinks and tantalizing desserts…. They’re all here, along with places for an elegant meal, a family dinner, or coffee and a catch-up with good friends. There’s a nod to the necessities too—from the daily newspaper (and eyeglasses to read it with) to a weekly hair trim.

The holidays make for a fine time to explore; you’ll find gifts galore. But it’s especially nice to know that after the decorations are taken down and life returns to a normal pace, you’ll still find that special something here that you just can’t find anywhere else.

coastvillage2SHOP

Allora by Laura 1269 Coast Village Rd., 805-563-2425, allorabylaura.com.

Angel 1221 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-1599, wendyfoster.com.

Antoinette 1046 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-1515, antoinetteboutique.com.

Best Dressed Monk 1275 Coast Village Rd., 805-324-4600, bestdressedmonk.com.

Calypso St. Barth 1014 Coast Village Rd., Ste. E, 805-565-3104, calypso
stbarth.com.

Civilianaire 1277 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-7005, and 1145 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-2520, civilianaire.com.

Dani Boy 1187 Coast Village Rd., 805-770-3156, daniboykids.com.

Hudson Grace 1014 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-9600, hudsongracesf.com.

Intermix 1014 Coast Village Rd., Ste. D, 805-969-2184, intermixonline.com.

J. McLaughlin 1253 Coast Village Rd., 805-770-3100, jmclaughlin.com.

James Perse 1016 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-0300, jamesperse.com.

Kendall Conrad 1024 Coast Village Rd., 805-886-8344, kendallconraddesign.com.

Legacy 1137 Coast Village Rd., 805-845-3300, legacy-montecito.com.

Leggiadro 1268 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-1300, leggiadro.com.

Letter Perfect 1150 Coast Village Rd., Ste. A, 805-969-7998, letterperfect
stationery.com.

coastvillage3Lily 1131 Coast Village Rd., 805-695-0625.

Maison K 1253 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-1676, maisonkstyle.com.

Malia Mills 1026 Coast Village Rd., 805-845-2137, maliamills.com.

Mate Gallery 1024 Coast Village Rd., Ste. E, 805-895-6283, mategallery.com.

Matti & Me 1273 Coast Village Rd., 805-845-0055.

Mertens Fine Art 1266 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-6955, mertensfineart.com.

Mischief 1225 Coast Village Rd., Ste. B, 805-565-9588.

Montecito Optometry 1147 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-5073, montecitoopometry.com.

Occhiali Fine Eyewear 1046 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-3415, occhialieyewear.com.

Portico Gallery 1235 Coast Village Rd., 805-695-8850, porticofineart.com.

So De Mel 1151 Coast Village Rd., 2nd floor, 805-969-2955, sodemel.com.

SUMMER FOR KIDS 1235 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-2277.

EAT, DRINK & BE MERRY

Cava Restaurant and Bar 1212 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-8500, cavarestaurant.com.

China Pavilion 1070 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-9380, china-pavilion.com.

Giovanni’s 1187 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-1277, giovanniscarp.com.

Here’s The Scoop 1187 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-7020.

Jeannine’s Restaurant and Bakery 1253 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-7878,
jeannines.com.

Little Alex’s Mexican Grill 1014 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-2297, littlealexs.com.

Los Arroyos 1280 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-9059, losarroyos.net.

Lucky’s 1279 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-7540, luckys-steakhouse.com.

Montecito Cafe 1295 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-3392, montecitocafe.com.

Montecito Deli 1150 Coast Village Rd., coastvillage6
Ste. B, 805-969-3717.

Montecito Natural Foods 1014 Coast
Village Rd., Ste. B, 805-969-1411, montecito
naturalfoods.com.

Panino 1014 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-0137, paninorestaurants.com.

Pressed Juicery 1024 Coast Village Rd.,
Ste. C, 805-845-2093, pressedjuicery.com.

Rori’s Artisanal Creamery 1024 Coast Village Rd., Ste. D, 805-770-2266, rorisartisanal
creamery.com.

Sakana 1046 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-2014.

Trattoria Mollie 1259 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-9381, tmollie.com.

Tre Lune Ristorante 1151 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-2646, trelunesb.com.

The Liquor & Wine Grotto 1271 Coast

Village Rd., 805-969-5939, monteciovino.com.

Xanadu Bakery 1028 Coast Village Rd.,
805-969-3550.

Your Cake Baker…Wayne Kjar 1150 Coast Village Rd., 805-965-8150, yourcakebaker.com.

SPARKLE

Ciao Bella 1286 Coast Village Rd.,
805-969-6110.

Daniel Gibbings 1143 Coast Village Rd.,
805-565-1284, danielgibbingsjewelry.com.

Gaspar Jewelers 1213 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-6362, gasparjewelers.com.

Peregrine Galleries 1133 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-9673, peregrinegalleries.com.

Silverhorn 1155 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-0442, silverhorn.com.

coastvillage4

PRIMP

ALICE’S NAIL BOUTIQUE 1150 Coast Village Rd., Ste. G, 805-695-0800.

Belle De Jour 1236 Coast Village Rd., 805-845-7000, bdj-salon.com.

Cos Bar 1253 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-7734, cosbar.com.

L.J. Hair Studio 1236 Coast Village Cr., Ste. B, 805-320-6835. ljhairstudio.com.

coastvillage5Montecito Aesthetic Institute 1150 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-5700, montecito

aesthetics.com.

Montecito Barbers 1028 Coast Village Rd., Ste. B, 805-969-1314.

The Perfect Fit 1225 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-3424.

Red Hair & Makeup Studio 1272 Coast

Village Rd., 805-969-6963, redstudionet.com.

Richie’s Barber Shop 1187 Coast Village Rd., 805-845-9701, richiesbarbershopsb.com.

Salon Montecito by Elana CantrellE 1159 Coast Village Rd., Ste. B, 805-570-1811.

Sequel Salon 1187 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-4797, sequelsalon.com.

Shear Pleasure 1150 Coast Village Rd., Ste. F, 805-969-0132, shearpleasure.us.

Shine Blow Dry Bar 1250 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-6700, shineblowdrybar.com.

Space NK Apothecary 1016 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-5566, us.spacenk.com.

PLAY

George 1026 Coast Village Rd., Ste. D, 805-565-4777, georgesf.com.

Montecito Sports 1046 Coast Village Rd., 805-969-5615, montecitosports.com.

Montecito Yoga 1187 Coast Village Rd.,

Ste. 10-C, 805-845-1301, montecitoyoga.com.

Simpatico 1235 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-7591, simpaticopilates.com.

The Tennis Shop of Montecito 1187 Coast Village Rd., Ste. 4, 805-969-1551,
thetennisshopofmontecito.com.

Toy Crazy 1026 Coast Village Rd., 805-565-7696, gotoycrazy.com.

[WINTER 2015]

Tagged in: , , , ,

Leave a Comment